Just some things on my mind here in late August

As I sit here with Hurricane Irene bearing down on my area–the eye is expected to pass about 40 miles west of me at some point this afternoon–and there being nothing but storm coverage on TV I figured I waste some time making a blog post. I hadn’t planned on writing anything today, so this will me mostly a “stream of consciousness” type posting.

First, as I mentioned yesterday on Twitter, I’m reading The Last Stormlord by Glenda Larke. It’s the first book of a trilogy that concerns a land where rain is controlled by Stormlords, and of course by the title we know they’re down to the last person that can bring rain. The ironic part is reading the book about people living in a desert without enough water while getting a few inches of rain.

Yesterday was “the calm before the storm” and my wife and I went to the supermarket to grab some things for dinner last night and a few snacks for today. As when there are winter storms here in New England I saw so many people with carts full of groceries like they wouldn’t be able to make it to the market for weeks. One woman had five loaves of bread. Unless you’re about to feed French toast to an army of people there’s no reason to ever buy that much bread. The good news was she also had enough milk for all those people to drink.

The most crowded store we went to was Barnes & Noble. I like it when bookstores are crowded, but I could do without the screaming kids that were there. But I’ll take the good with the bad because most of them were leaving with books. The only new release on my list that was in was The Broken Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin. I still haven’t gotten to the first book of the series (The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms), but it’s been nominated for so many awards it’s a safe bet it will be worth grabbing the second one while I have the chance.

I laugh when people complain that a storm doesn’t live up to media hype. I’d rather they over-hype a storm and have people a little over-prepared as opposed to saying it’s going to be light showers and have it pour all day long. I remember the Blizzard of 1978 and what happens when people are not prepared for a major storm. But, of course, one can go a little overboard like the aforementioned woman with enough bread to feed an army.

You couldn’t pay me enough money to stand on a beach during a hurricane. These reporters out there really need to examine what they’re getting themselves into. We all get that it’s dangerous and we shouldn’t be out there, you know, doing exactly what you’re doing. The most amazing thing is I can’t recall any reporter being sucked away by the surging ocean. Maybe once it happens they’ll stop this silliness.

Leave a Reply

