A look back at some 2011 predictions on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to post more, so as I attempt to follow through with at least two posts a week (to be honest I’ll be happy with just one, but no need to not aim high at this point) let’s take a quick look back on how good my predictions on the 2012 class of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame were.

I had four acts that I labeled as “likely”: Beastie Boys, Heart, The Small Faces/The Faces, and Rufus with Chaka Khan. I got two right, with the Beastie Boys and The Small Faces/The Faces getting the nod. When you look at a list of the acts in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame both Heart and Rufus with Chaka Khan clearly belong so it shouldn’t be too long before they’re inducted. Then again, Rush isn’t in the hall of fame either, so what do I know?

Guns ‘N Roses and Donovan were listed by me as probable, and both were elected into the hall. I didn’t list either as “likely” because I thought that each had an issue that might have turned away some voters. I was uncertain that enough voters knew how influential Donovan was in his era, because in general most people could only name a couple of songs he sang. Luckily the voters were a little smarter than I gave them credit for and elected him in. Everyone knows about the problems between Axl Rose and the other early members of Guns ‘N Roses, and despite having a catalog that should have made them a shoe-in I was figuring on some backlash against Axl–the only remaining member of the group from their debut album Appetite for Destruction–for his antics over the last decade or so.

The artists I listed as “maybe” were Freddie King, Laura Nyro, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and The Spinners. Of the four only The Spinners didn’t make the cut, and I suspect that may have been more a numbers game than anything else. Just like Heart and Rufus with Chaka Khan The Spinners should be in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The remaining nominees were The Cure, Eric B. & Rakim, Joan Jett and The Blackhearts, Donna Summer, and War. I had them all as “unlikely” or “no”, and other than War there really isn’t any case to be made for any of these artists when you consider some of the talent not in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Some of the more notable artists that are eligible but not in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are the aforementioned Rush, Warren Zevon, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Moody Blues, Deep Purple, Peter Gabriel, and The Guess Who top a long list of acts more deserving than some of the 2012 nominees.

Leave a Reply

