Beasts, breasts, and boobs


After what has seemed like a millennium Blizzard Entertainment has finally released the long awaited sequel to Diablo II, called (not so shockingly) Diablo III. As my wife and I both enjoyed Diablo II and played together for countless hours we were looking forward to it being released so we could adventure together in a new game. We were so excited about it we toyed with the idea of even taking the day off from work to buy and play the game, but ultimately decided that we’d waited this long for the game to come out what was a few more hours. Turns out that was a wise decision as things didn’t work out quite like we were expecting.

After work we went to Target to buy a couple copies of the game because we get 5% off there when we use their debit card plus has another 5% off coupon. (Folks, if you shop at Target their debit/credit deal for using one of their cards can’t be beat and is genuinely as good as advertised). I knew when we got home and went to install the game it was going to be slow going because I was following along with Blizzard on twitter and they were having some issues with the mad rush of people trying to install/play the game so I knew it would be take a little more time than usual. Because there is an additional download required to play the game and everyone buying the game was trying to do that at the same time it gave a whole new definition to “slow”, with my usually pretty good download speed hitting a whopping 39 bytes a second.

Yes, not “MB” (megabyte) or “KB” (kilobyte), just “B”. To put that in perspective, picture your standard size inground swimming pool. “MB” would be like filling it with a fire hose, “KB” would be like using a garden hose. My download speed was like filling it with a tablespoon. Needless to say I gave up and went on to do some other stuff, again figuring what’s a few more hours. So just before I went to bed for the evening I decided to set up the download again so it could do it overnight. Getting up the next morning I saw that the download and installation was complete, so despite having to go to work I figured I’d click the “play” button just to get it started. I got a message I was not expecting…my video card was not good enough (meaning not powerful enough) to run the game, so it wouldn’t start.

After grumbling my way through the day I returned home after work and checked out the list Blizzard provided of video cards not supported and they was quite a lot of them. After posting about it on a forum I frequent it turns out many of those video cards were older ones, or were low end cards used in business machines (which was the type of computer I usually bought). My machine was also at it max ability to run things, so even if I wanted to upgrade my video card it would have meant upgrading a whole lot of things, so for me to play the best option was to buy a new computer. That wasn’t something I was looking to do right now, but luckily after a check of Trish’s laptop it would play the game (just barely) so that Saturday when she was out running errands with her dad I installed her copy on the laptop.

All I can say is “Holy cow!!!”

I played for a couple hours before she came home, and then she played for a couple more hours. The Sunday before Memorial Day Trish told me that we should go out and upgrade my desktop so we can play the game. So because I have a very cool wife this is my first blog post coming from my new computer as I take a break from killing beasts in Diablo III.

**********

Changing direction from video games, can someone explain to me what’s so controversial about a picture of two military Moms breastfeeding? For those that don’t know what I’m talking about, here’s the story about it from USA Today and Fox News. I simply don’t see what the issue is. I understand the military has rules about doing certain things in uniform, and that for the most part that’s what the issue really is here, but it seems to me the military may have missed an opportunity to show that while in the reserves/National Guard/etc normal life continues unless they’re called into service.

Something tells me if this had been an ad about hunting or fishing and male servicemen were in uniform there wouldn’t be so many issues with it. No matter how far we’ve come as a people in many cases we’re still in the stone age.

**********

And speaking of boobs, I’d like to call out a couple–because in most cases they come in pairs–in former senator and current perpetual dirt bag John Edwards and the sitting New York City mayor Michael Bloomberg. Edwards for just being in the news again, because when you cheat on your wife who has untreatable cancer you’re a worthless dirt bag no matter what your politics are, and Bloomberg for deciding for us all that we can’t order soft drinks more than 16oz in his city. He wants to ban the sale of large sized (meaning over 16oz) sugar based drinks by restaurants, movie theatres, street vendors, and in sports stadiums. To add even more stupidity to this, grocery stores and convenience stores are exempt from the law, so that means a restaurant can’t serve a 20oz bottle of soda but you could still buy a 64oz Big Gulp at the corner 7-11.

Ummm, what?

Now the fact people probably shouldn’t be drinking 64oz of soda not withstanding, who is any politician to say I can’t? People are quick to add that diet soda isn’t covered by this proposed law because there’s no sugar in them but let’s be honest here, the chemicals in diet soda are probably worse than the sugar in regular soda. So it won’t be long until someone that dislikes the idea of me drinking that much diet soda will inevitably add them to the ban at some point. Some will be quick to toss around the phrase “nanny state” in relation to this proposed ban, but since I know that term is only used by people that disagree with specific laws passed and never applied to regulated behavior those people agree with I chuckle when I see it.

I have no issue with a regulating body telling companies they need to indicate how many calories (and other health information) are in a drink/snack/whatever, but it’s my decision to determine if I want to consume it or not. Now pass me my Big Gulp of diet soda as I go back to killing bad guys in Diablo III.

Leave a Reply

