Some random book thoughts for July

My intent was to do a book post every month, but doing one in the middle of the month seemed a little odd to me so I skipped June and will now begin what I hope will be monthly installments.

As I mentioned in May one of the books I was waiting for was Wizard Undercover by K.E. Mills, the pen name of Karen Miller for her Rogue Agent series. Miller has several best selling books to her credit and it’s not a secret that in this series she uses a pen name, so I wasn’t all that surprised when they didn’t have any copies at the Barnes and Noble I frequent. The spot on the new science fiction shelf where it should have been was empty, so my natural presumption was they were sold out. I went to another Barnes and Noble and they too appeared to be sold out as there was the same empty spot on the rack where the book should have been. To my surprise when I went to customer service to ask about it I was told that Barnes and Noble wasn’t carrying the book. They did order it for me, but I’m wondering how many sales Miller has lost out on because the largest brick-and-mortar bookseller in the country isn’t stocking the title.


The book I just finished was an interesting story by Patrick A. Vanner called Ragnarok, which is apparently the first book in a series although I can’t find any information at all about a potential second book entitled Niflheim other than the “upcoming” label listed in the paperback under “books by…” in the opening pages of Ragnarok. It’s pretty much the standard Humans vs Aliens theme, but his descriptions of the battles was pretty good and he’s set a nice back-story for future novels. I may have overrated it a little on Goodreads by giving it a four (out of five), but if the idea of writing a book is to entertain the reader and make them interested in buying your next book Vanner succeeded in both of those. You really can’t ask for more in a debut novel.


The book I’ve been waiting for since it was announced a while ago, Besieged by Rowena Cory Daniells, finally came out last last month. With Barnes and Noble not carrying the Miller book I was a little concerned they wouldn’t be carrying this one either, but I was happy to see they not only were carrying the series but they had the book on both the new science fiction and new paperback shelf. It’s the first book of The Outcast Chronicles and the book I’m about to start, so I’m sure I’ll have more on this next month. Daniells is also the author of The Chronicles of King Rolen’s Kin, one of my favorite trilogies of late.

A few other books I’ve picked up lately were The Adamantine Palace and The King of the Crags, the first two books in The Memory of Flames series by Stephen Deas, and all three books currently out for the The Courts of the Feyre series by Mike Shevdon, Sixty-One Nails, The Road To Bedlam, and Strangeness and Charm. I bought the books by Shevdon because I liked the covers; not a great reason, but reason enough I guess. All five are now on my “to read” shelf, and we’ll see how long it takes for me to get to them.

There are lots of science fiction books coming out in July, but the only two on the list that look like “must buys” are The Crown of the Usurper by Gav Thorpe and Exile by Rowena Cory Daniells. Exile, as you may have guessed, is the second book in The Outcast Chronicles. I’ve misplaced my lists of upcoming releases in the thriller and mystery genres, so you’ll just have to check back next month to see if I picked anything new up.

One thought on “Some random book thoughts for July

Leave a Reply

