Some random book thoughts for December


I guess technically this is also some random book thoughts for October and November too since I never had a chance to make posts for those months. I’ve not read a whole lot since moving because I haven’t had a ton of free time, and unfortunately the book I’m reading just isn’t doing it for me. Land of the Burning Sands is the second book in Rachel Neumeier’s Griffin Mage trilogy. While I wasn’t that thrilled with the first book in the series, Lord of the Changing Winds, I had already purchased the second and third book (Law of the Broken Earth) so I figured that maybe I just didn’t understand the first book and the second book would clear up a lot of the issues I had with Changing Winds. It didn’t. in fact, I was close to just giving up but I have struggled through to almost the end. At some point I will read book three, but I’m thinking not for some time.

Since my last posting I’ve bought just two books, with only one being in the science fiction/fantasy genre. Seeds of Earth is the first book in the Humanity’s Fire series by Michael Cobley, and I picked the book off the shelves just because I liked the cover. The blurb on the back sounded interesting enough so I bought it. When I got back home I looked Cobley up and found the entire series has already been written and was apparently previously released over in England. The next two books in the series were to be released here in October and November, so when I head back to the bookstore I’ll look for them. Although my weekly treks have become more monthly, so who knows when I’ll actually get around to going.

The second was my first non-fiction book in a long while Who I Am by legendary rock musician and songwriter Pete Townshend of The Who. I’m a huge fan of The Who so when this came out in hardcover it was a no-brainer for me to pick it up. This is next on my “to read” list, and considering the troubles I’ve had finishing Burning Sands I’m a little surprised I haven’t started it yet. One way or another, I will be soon.

As for new released I’m looking forward to, I’m not entirely sure. I know Tom Clancy has a new one out today called Threat Vector, and I will be snagging a copy at my earliest opportunity. Spellbound, the second book in Larry Correia’s Grimnoir Chronicles, will be released in the mass market paperback edition some time this month, and that’s another I’ll grab. As for the rest, including October and November new releases I missed, I’ll just have to see what came out when I get to the bookstore. I’ll probably have to check out Amazon too to see if anything slipped by while I wasn’t watching.

One thought on “Some random book thoughts for December

Leave a Reply

