Some random book thoughts for April 2013

I was figuring with my March post being so late in the month I wouldn’t have much for an April post and wasn’t certain I’d even bother with one, but as I have a few minutes and did actually buy some books there’s no reason to not put up a quick post.

I just finished (and I mean just finished) the fifth of Dan Brown’s books, The Lost Symbol, and all five were pretty decent reads. Deception Point, which I mentioned last month I was in the middle of, is one of two books Brown has written that don’t feature Robert Langdon but contain Brown’s plot styling of having the events of the book take place over a very short time, usually 24 hours or less. The base story is a little far fetched, as is the plot wrap up at the end, but as with all of Brown’s books it was entertaining. That’s pretty much all I ask for in a book.

After that was The Da Vinci Code, which just about everyone has either read or seen the movie. It was an OK story and I was entertained, but to be honest Angels & Demons was a far superior book. The Lost Symbol was also entertaining, but compared to the others missed the mark a little. Two of the major plot points I guessed very quickly, which really turned the book into a “look for clues that I’m right” quest as opposed to being about the story. Not to spoil the ending, but I also guessed the building Langdon was taken to near the end of the book. It was way too obvious, especially for anyone that had read the other two Langdon stories.

A couple weeks ago I had an afternoon off from work and headed to Barnes & Noble, mostly to grab The Marching Dead by Lee Battersby and to see what else was out. Lullaby, Ace Atkins’ first installment in Robert Parker’s “Spenser” series, was out in paperback so I grabbed that. I also saw Power Down, Ben Coes’ first book, was reprinted in a special $5.99 edition. I grabbed that and then found his second, Coup d’Etat, on the remaindered hard cover table.

I have no idea which book I’m starting next, so you’ll need to turn un next month to see what it is. Yeah, not much of a cliff hanger, but we make due with what we have. The April list for new science fiction didn’t have anything that popped out at me so I’m not thinking there will be anything new in that genre for me this month, and I’m still looking for a site that lists new releases on other genres. If anyone knows of one let me know in the comments section. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

