Some random book thoughts for July 2013

After a delay because of a week’s vacation and it being way too hot and humid to even think about blogging, here in the midst of a thunderstorm I finally can get a few thoughts posted. I unfortunately have no update on the two love birds I mentioned in a second posting last month. During my several trips to the bookstore I didn’t see either of them so I have no idea if it developed into anything yet. Maybe next time I’ll run into one of them, although odds are I won’t be asking them.

I finished my run through Michael Connelly’s books, which you can read about why I read them all and my thoughts on his first 15 books in last month’s posting. I posted that I had just started The Lincoln Lawyer, and like all of Connelly’s books before that one it was a pretty straight forward story with a nice twist at the end. For the record I figured out who the murderer of the second victim was fairly quickly but it didn’t ruin the story.

After that came Echo Park and The Overlook, two more featuring Connelly’s main protagonist Harry Bosch. After retiring and heading off on his own Bosch is one again a member of the LAPD operating out of the Open-Unsolved Unit looking at cold cases in Echo Park. The Overlook is an interesting story almost outside the usual Connelly timeline as it was originally published in sixteen installments in The New York Times Magazine. Connelly cleaned up some of the chapters and added some content for the book release. The Brass Verdict is the second Mickey Haller book, and again nothing new but a decent read. The Scarecrow, which features reporter Jack McEvoy and FBI agent Rachel Walling closes out the storyline started 13 years earlier in The Poet.

In the next four books Connelly the alternates storylines, with Nine Dragons and The Drop both featuring Bosch and The Reversal and The Fifth Witness featuring Haller. Nine Dragons is a change for Connelly as many of the pivotal parts take place in Hong Kong. The Drop continues the Bosch storyline, although for the first time Connelly has Bosch solving two separate mysteries. The Reversal is a departure for the Haller character as he works as a prosecutor in the novel instead of being his usual defense attorney. The Fifth Witness is a great read, and in my opinion is Connelly’s best book in a long while. I don’t want to give anything away, but it’s a very good story.

After so many mysteries there was no way my next book was going to be anything but science fiction/fantasy, and The Wayfarer Redemption by Sara Douglass was the one I grabbed. That book has been on my “to read” shelf the second longest of any series (one day I’ll mention what books have been there the longest), and after sitting there for so long it was time to finally crack it open.

There’s a funny story about the title, as the book is only called The Wayfarer Redemption here in the US. It’s called Battleaxe in every other part of the world, but as is often the case the title was changed during the publishing over here. To make matter a little more confusing, the first three books of the series are referred to as “The Axis Trilogy” while the second three books are called “The Wayfarer Redemption”. That means in the US The Wayfarer Redemption is not in the series in which it’s named for. Go figure.

In a sad note, Douglass passed away from ovarian cancer in September of 2011.

Being on vacation I made several trips to bookstores, and walked away with what many would think is way too many books. As I mentioned last month The Keepers of the Library by Glenn Cooper came out in paperback, so that was an easy grab. I also picked up Monster Hunter: Legion by Larry Correia. If you’re a science fiction fan and you’re not reading that series you should be. Off of Barnes & Nobles remainder rack I picked up the trade paperback of “The Videssos Cycle”, which reprints The Misplaced Legion and An Emperor for the Legion by Harry Turtledove.

In other trips I picked up The Hammer and The Blade and A Discourse In Steel by Paul S. Kemp and The Lies of Locke Lamora and Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch. Just moments before posting this I grabbed the latest out in paperback by W.E.B. Griffin, The Spymasters. All of those, plus what I already have, should keep my busy for quite some time.

Until next time…

One thought on “Some random book thoughts for July 2013

Leave a Reply

