The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading

A few of the book blogs I follow did this intermittently over the summer, and now that I have a few minutes I figured I’d give it a shot.

GREED – What is your most inexpensive book? What is your most expensive book?
Presuming we’re not counting books given as gifts the most inexpensive book would probably be one of many $1 hardcovers I’ve picked up over the years. Many are still sitting on my to-read shelf, where they may sit for a long while. Being a bibliophile I just couldn’t pass them up despite the long odds that they get read anytime soon. I don’t think I have any paperbacks that I’ve gotten for under a buck, or at least I haven’t in a long time. I’m not sure I can answer what the most expensive book I own is because I generally don’t buy new hardcovers. I have some gaming hardcover manuals that cost in the $50 neighborhood, but I don’t really count them as books per se.

WRATH – What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?
An interesting question…I guess one would be Naomi Novik. Her “Temeraire” series started out so well but the last two in paperback have really missed the mark. It’s a series with so many possibilities but Novik seems to be interested in just having her characters wander the globe for no apparent reason. Another one would be Jacqueline Carey, whose “Kushiel’s Legacy” series is an incredible work of epic fantasy and should be a “must read” for anyone that likes the genre. Carey the followed up that masterpiece with a trashy paranormal fantasy novel that no one I know who purchased it liked.

GLUTTONY – What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?
I generally don’t read books more than once. Two books that I can recall reading multiple times were As On A Darkling Plain by Ben Bova and Sentenced to Prism by Alan Dean Foster, but both of those were long, long ago. There are currently no books on my vast to-read shelf that I’ve read before.

SLOTH – What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?
The lame answer is “none”, because laziness isn’t a reason why I’ve neglected to read any book. The books that were on my to-read shelf the second longest were the “Wayfarer Redemption” series by Sara Douglass, which my last two “random book” posts talk about. The series that has been on the to-read shelf the longest I will eventually get around to reading, and then I’ll mention what it is. But again, laziness isn’t the reason they’ve been sitting there.

PRIDE – What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?
Another lame answer…I don’t talk about books to sound intellectual. If that was my plan I certainly would be reading a whole lot more of the classics as opposed to the fiction I generally read. I’ve also been lucky in that most of the people I know aren’t like that either.

LUST – What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?
This one might be the hardest question only because I can’t decide if “acting logically” is an attribute or not. There is nothing I hate more than when a writer has their characters performing actions that make absolutely no sense at all for the character to be doing. To me it really detracts from a book when characters do things that go against the grain of what has been written before, like when the pious good guy turns out to be the secret criminal antagonist. Time and time again authors pull this tactic as a plot twist but the vast majority fail at setting up the “facts” to make it work. But if you think acting logically isn’t an attribute, then I’m kind of stuck on this one.

ENVY – What books would you most like to receive as a gift?
Any book I haven’t read in a genre I like to read is good enough for me. I love to get books from new authors too.

3 thoughts on “The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading

  1. loved this :D! and I must admit I am also greedy when it comes to buying book: the more, the better. I had a very reading-productive summer, the autums looks like a lot of work though, and less fun. therefore I already see the pile of unread books growing. will this stop me from buying more books? sure not. there are at least 5 I want to puchase 😆 .

Leave a Reply

