The ’30 day book challenge’, part 3

Making the rounds of many of the blogs I read is something called The 30 day book challenge, which was a list posted on a Tumblr blog that lists many such challenges. The list apparently was posted three years ago, so as the original 30 days has long since passed so there’s no need to do one per day as the list suggests and I’ll answer them in groups of ten. Because the questions were supposed to be answered over a whole month there are some that are just reworded duplicates, so I may sneak in different answers to see if anyone is paying attention.

For those that missed the first two parts they can be found here: part 1 and part 2.

Favorite book from your childhood
I remember reading “The Hardy Boys” books when I was younger, but I don’t remember one specific book that I would call my favorite from my childhood. I liked to read, and I read a lot, but even back then I didn’t read many books multiple times. In fact, one of the only titles I can even remember from the books I read as a child is Yogi Bear and the Colorado River. Would remembering the title and story make it my favorite?

Favorite book you own
A couple of years ago I reduced my book collection by a huge amount, donating boxfuls of books to a local charity so I have very few books that I’ve read still in my collection. (If you’re so inclined you can read a funny story about that called ‘What do you mean I have “too many books”?’.) I kept all my Tom Clancy hardcovers and my favorite Clancy book is Red Storm Rising, so that pretty much makes my answer here pretty easy to figure out.

A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t
A lame answer here because I’m not going to answer this one…yet. I have a series sitting on my shelf which includes the five books that have been on my to-read shelf the longest. And in “longest” I mean they’ve been there over two decades. There’s a story as to why I haven’t read them yet, and when I start reading them (and I will, soon) I’m going to tell that story. I guess we’ll call this “a teaser”.

A book that you wish more people would’ve read
Wow, this is a tough one. I really want to say I just want people to read at all, but that’s not a real answer for this one because of course as a reader I want people to read more so more authors would have opportunities to release what they’ve written. I guess I’m going to go with The Wayfarer Redemption by Sara Douglass for this one. It’s the first book of “The Wayfarer Redemption” series (called “The Axis trilogy” everywhere except the US), and it’s a series that absolutely blew me away. It’s an old enough series that many newer readers may not have come across, and if you’re a fantasy reader this one is a “must read”.

A character who you can relate to the most
Without a doubt it’s Robert B. Parker’s Spenser. Not much more needs to be said about it.

A book that changed your opinion about something
I generally read fiction, so there’s not much mind changing that goes on. The non-fiction I read tends to be biographies, and I don’t recall any of those changing my opinion about something. I guess you could say it was Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey as it was the first of the now countless novels written by women I’ve read, but as I wasn’t intentionally avoiding books written by women I’m not sure my mind was changed by reading it. But it’s the only thing I can think of, so I guess I’ll answer that one.

The most surprising plot twist or ending
If you’ve read it, you know why: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Do yourself a favor and read the book before you see the movie. TRUST ME. I obviously won’t give away the plot twist because it’s a major spoiler if you don’t know. But find out what it is by reading the book. Planet of the Apes by Pierre Boulle and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson both would fit here too and have well known twists, but for me it’s Ender’s Game by a mile.

Favorite title
Confessions of a Hooker has got to be the best title ever for a book…about golf. It’s by the legendary Bob Hope, and it’s about his love affair with golf. So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish by Douglas Adams and The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse by Robert Rankin would probably round out the top three.

A book everyone hated but you liked
I’m not sure there is an answer for this one. Unless it’s written by a friend I pay no attention to reviews so I would have no idea how badly others thought a book was, and I can’t recall giving a book four or five stars on Goodreads that was more than a point higher than the current average. There have been more than a handful of books I disliked that most thought were great, but I just can’t think of any that were the other way.

Your favorite book of all time
Another one that will probably get you a different answer if you asked me several times. The easy answer would be Clancy’s Red Storm Rising, but I’m not sure that it really is my favorite. Lamentation by Ken Scholes would make the short list, as would Starman by Sara Douglass and As on a Darkling Plain by Ben Bova. Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle’s novel Lucifer’s Hammer is also right there too. The problem is I’ve read so many great books picking just one as my all time favorite is impossible. So how about I answer it this way…

hopefully it’s the next one.

Until next time….

One thought on “The ’30 day book challenge’, part 3

Leave a Reply

