Books, A to Z

I stumbled into this post over at perpetualpageturner.com and thought it looked like fun, so we’ll give it a shot.

Author you’ve read the most books from
That would be Robert B. Parker. I’ve read 39 “Spenser” novels (only missing Chasing the Bear: A Young Spenser Novel, which I’ve never even seen a copy), four “Jesse Stone” novels, three “Sunny Randall” books, plus a couple of his westerns. So that would be at least 48 novels from him. Second most would be Michael Connelly, where I’ve read 24 of 25 of his novels over this past summer (just missing The Black Box). Sue Grafton would be third with 23.

Best Sequel Ever
A guess this would depend on how you define “sequel”. Is the second book of a planned series a sequel? Or would it have to be a second book that wasn’t originally planned? Because we could debate that all night I’m going to make it easy on myself an include the second book planned series, which makes Enchanter by Sara Douglass, the second book in “The Wayfarer Redemption” (Axis) trilogy the winner here.

Currently Reading
As I type this it’s The Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu. Who knows what it will be when I finally get around to posting this.

Drink of Choice While Reading
Generally coffee, hot in the morning and usually iced in the afternoon. I occasionally will have a soft drink when reading, but I’m trying to cut those out of my diet (failing miserably) so I, at least in theory, drink it less often than coffee these days.

E-reader or Physical Book?
100% physical books, and I will not purchase an e-reader unless absolutely forced too. And with so many books on my to-read shelf I won’t be forced to any time soon.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School
Kind of a creepy question because it would mean you’ve thought this before. I bypassed this one to think about it a little more, but truth be told I can’t come up with a single answer. Sort of an lame answer, but none come to mind.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance
Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey. While I wasn’t intentionally not reading female authors it just seemed to work out that way, but now more than half the books I buy come from female writers. One question folks should be asking is why so many of the top names in science fiction fantasy genre are women from Australia. It’s odd that there are so many…

Hidden Gem Book
Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith. It’s about a Russian serial killer and the problems the political system caused in trying to solve the case. It’s a great thriller that paints a picture of how bad it was for most people–even lower tier party members–back in the era of Stalin. The book will both make you sick and will uplift you at the same time. Not bad for a first time novelist.

Important Moment in your Reading Life
It would have been when I was 10 or 11 years old and my mother stopped at a yard sale and bought a huge box full of paperbacks. There were some science fiction in the box (I specifically remember some Robert Heinlein books being in the mix), and as she didn’t want those I took them and read them all. The rest, as they say, is history.

Just Finished
Again, as I type this it’s A Blight if Mages by Karen Miller. Who knows what it will be when I finally get around to mashing the publish button.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read
I wouldn’t read a romance novel if you put a gun to my head. I’m also not big on what’s called “urban fantasy” or ‘Cyberpunk”. I haven’t read any “young adult” books, but if one caught my eye I probably would buy it.

Longest Book You’ve Read
Dead or Alive by Tom Clancy checks in at, according to Goodreads, 950 pages. Because the number of pages can be different in each edition of a book and is relying on size of font and too many other things this question really should be about word count. While Goodreads can rank your read list by page count it doesn’t have a way to track word count, so I have no idea what the longest book I’ve read based on word count is.

Major book hangover because of…
I really have no idea what this means. Going back to the original post and its comments shed no light on the answer for me. So until I understand the question I’m passing this one by.

Number of Bookcases You Own
Ten. One is unmade, but the rest are basically completely full. And remember, this after I’ve already taken boxes of books away on more than one occasion. So you know what that means…yep, I gotta build that tenth book case.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times
As I’ve previously mentioned, I generally don’t read books multiple times. I do know that I’ve mentioned Sentenced to Prism by Alan Dean Foster is one I’ve read twice, so I’ll answer that one again.

Preferred Place To Read
When at home about half the time I read in my office, the other half in the living room. It generally depends on my mood and how long I’ve been sitting in my office that day.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read
“All knowledge is worth having” …Jacqueline Carey from Kushiel’s Dart

Reading Regret
Waiting so long to start reading Sara Douglass’ books. I know it makes no difference in the quality of the book if the author is still alive or not when I read it, but I think it would have been cool to be able to communicate with her how much I loved her series.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series)
I still have the last three books of “The Wayfarer Redemption” series by Sara Douglass to go and the last book of “The Griffin Mage”, Law of the Broken Earth, by Rachel Neumeier on my shelf. Almost grabbed Douglas’ Sinner off the shelf yesterday, so that will probably come up soon.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books
Using an answer I gave just recently, with the caveat these could change if asked again at a different time, in no particular order I’d say Starman by Sara Douglass, As on a Darkling Plain by Ben Bova, and Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle’s novel Lucifer’s Hammer all make the short list.

Unapologetic Fanboy For
As if you couldn’t tell, it’s science fiction. Many “serious” readers look down their noses at the genre (I know, just like I do at romance novels), but there are so many great books in the genre that rival anything that can be put up against it in the way of the big fiction writing awards.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others
Right now it’s King Breaker, book four in Rowena Cory Daniells’ “King Rolen’s Kin” series.

Worst Bookish Habit
Now that I’ve written my answer here I realize it would make too good of an answer here and should be a post of its own. So I’m skipping this one for now and will expound on my already typed and saved answer at a later time. Which, if you think about it, would be my worst “blogging” habit.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book
Acacia: The War with the Mein by David Anthony Durham

Your latest book purchase
Neil Young’s autobiography Waging Heavy Peace. I bought a couple other books at the same time, but Young is last alphabetically so we’ll use his book for this one.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late)
Monster Hunter: Legion by Larry Correia. It wasn’t his best offering but I just couldn’t put it down. I remember looking up at the clock and seeing I had about a half hour to the time I usually go to bed, and when I looked up again it was more than two hours later. And then I kept reading.

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Books, A to Z

Leave a Reply

