Would You Rather…

Just got emailed this post from John Guillen by a blogger friend of mine and was told “answer these!”. So I’ll put aside the posting I had for today and will add this one instead…

1. Would you rather read only trilogies or stand alones?
I think I’d rather trilogies. It seems to me because an author can cover more ground character-wise in three books you tend to end up with a better story overall. Of course the converse is true that an author could get way too verbose because of all the extra pages to fill, but it’s been my experience that authors that have a story to tell know if they can do it in a single, longer book vs three moderate sized ones and choose wisely. I’ve yet to come across a trilogy that I though should have been pared down into a single book but have seen many stand alone novels that should have been chopped down to a short story, so that likely clouds my judgment.

2. Would you rather read only female or male authors?
A tough question because in my youth I read just male authors. It wasn’t a conscious choice, it just sort of happened. Over the last few years it’s been generally equally split between male and female writers, so being forced to chose just one is far from easy. Despite knowing that I’ll lose great authors like Karen Miller, Sue Grafton, Rachel Aaron, and Glenda Larke, I’ve got to pick male authors. Luckily for me I don’t have to make that choice for real.

3. Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?
Even though they charge more money I’d rather shop at Barnes and Noble. I’m just hooked on the “brick and mortar” book store and many times while bored I’ve been known to go to B&N and just “visit the books”. Truth be told I’d rather shop at a local, independent book store over both of the choices I’m given here, but as there are none around me I can’t even go “off board” and pick that option.

4. Would you rather all books become movies or TV shows?
Well, TV shows generally don’t cost money to watch, so that would be my choice. Funny thing is I don’t think the percentage of crappy TV shows being aired would increase all that much despite there now being tons more being made. Not sure if that says more about books or TV programs though.

5. Would you rather read five pages per day or five books per week?
Since I generally read WAY more than five pages per day this choice is easy and I’d rather five books in a week. I did that last summer in my run through of Michael Connelly’s books. I suspect that will be the only time I come even close to that pace. But I’ll keep trying.

6. Would you rather be a professional reviewer or author?
I can’t even imagine being a professional reviewer. No reason to be wordy about this one, author all the way.

7. Would you rather always read your top 20 books over and over or always read new books you haven’t read before?
I seldom reread books, so this is an easy choice of always reading new books. I can’t imagine why anyone would pick reading the same 20 books over and over again and miss out on the potential for adding a different book to their top 20 list. Even the thought of it boggles my mind. Plus I’m not even sure I could come up with a consistent top 20 list. Such a list would really depend on my mood. Heck, when I posted my ten favorite albums of all time I cheated and listed only nine and then tossed out over a half=dozen choices for number ten.

8. Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?
The major difference I see is a librarian works for someone else and a bookseller owns his own place. So, that would make me want to be a bookseller. Plus you have to be quiet in a library. In my own shop I could listen to music while it was open and enjoy a beverage if I wanted.

9. Would you rather only read your favorite genre or every genre but your favorite?
I’d rather just read my favorite. What kind of entertainment would reading books be if you didn’t like the genre? It’s my opinion you shouldn’t limit yourself to one type of book because there’s lots of great stuff in just about every genre, but if the choice is my favorite or everything else it’s going to be my favorite. And since my favorite is science fiction, I’ll get plenty of different stuff to satisfy me.

10. Would you rather only read print books or eBooks?
Another easy one as I don’t even own an e-reader. Print books all the way.

Leave a Reply

