Get to know me a bit better…55 bookish questions! (part two)

A couple days ago I posted the first of a list of 55 questions I stole borrowed from “Chrissi Reads”. Now I’ll answer the last half. To remind folks of the questions and answers I gave previously, here is the the first 23.

24. Favorite Biography:
Guessing this includes autobiographies, Long Time Gone by David Crosby. It’s so good it’s the autobiography I judge all others against. If this doesn’t include autobiographies then I guess it would be My War by Andy Rooney.

25. Have you ever read a self help book and was it actually helpful?
Never read a self help book. Never had the urge to either.

26. Favorite cookbook:
Don’t have one.

27. Most inspirational book you have read this year:
Not sure. I read books for entertainment.

28. Favorite reading snack:
I’m partial to potato chips.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience:
I generally don’t fall for book hype, either I was going to read it or I wasn’t. So I’m not sure there is one.

30. How often do you agree with the critics about a book?
Overall, about 2/3rds of the time, although I guess it would really depend on the critic.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
If a book deserves it (and by book I mean the book and not the political views of the author, some have too hard of a time separating the two) then I have no issue with it. But the reviewer better have a good reason. I’ve seen negative reviews of a book because the person didn’t like the typeface. Really? What does that have to do with the story?

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which would you choose?
Sometimes the way some authors write English seems like a foreign language, but in all seriousness I think I’d like to read Spanish better than I do.

33. Most intimidating book I have read:
I can’t recall ever being intimidated by a book.

34. Most intimidating book I am too nervous to begin:
Again, I’m not intimidated by books.

35. Favorite poet:
Don’t really have one.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
I don’t check books out of libraries.

37. How often do you return books to the library unread?
See above.

38. Favorite fictional character:
Spenser as written by Robert B. Parker.

39. Favorite fictional villain:
It’s either Moriarty of “Sherlock Holmes” fame by Arthur Conan Doyle or Batman’s nemesis The Joker. What’s funny is they’re both so different, and yet exactly the same.

40. Books most likely to bring on a vacation:
I generally take pulp-style stand alone novels, although if you plan your vacation right there’s no time to read anyway.

41. The longest I have gone without reading?
Presuming this means novels for entertainment I’m guessing a month or two. It’s been a long time since I went even longer than a couple days without reading the book I was on.

42. Name a book you could/would not finish:
The last one was Book of Joby by Mark J. Ferrari. It’s gotten pretty good reviews but I just couldn’t get into it.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Loud noises. I like it moderately quiet. A little soft background noise is fine.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel:
A lame answer, but the “Lord of The Rings” movies.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation:
Is The Cat In the Hat a legitimate answer? Not an especially long book, but certainly a terrible movie. Although just as I type that answer Watchmen comes to mind. There may not be a worse one out there than that.

46. Most money I have ever spent in a bookstore at one time:
Easily over $100. That’s not typical, of course.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
Almost never. If the blurb on the back doesn’t interest me enough to buy it there’s no reason to skim.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?
It would have to be beyond terrible. Luckily that has seldom happened to me.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
Both my “to read” shelves and the books I’ve saved are alphabetical by author and then by release date, although in the case of series where the author released different books it’s the release date of the first book.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’re read?
I used to compulsively save everything, now I generally give away the books when I’m done with them. I still save a few, but in general I now offer them to friends or give them to charity.

51. Are there any books you have been avoiding?
If by “avoiding” this means I’m not interested in reading them, then yes, I’m avoiding a large number of popular books.

52. Name a book that made you angry:
I’m sure one has but I can’t recall any right now.

53. A book I didn’t expect to like, but did:
Seeing as I only buy books I think I’d like I never expect to not like a book.

54. A book I expected to like, but didn’t:
Avoiding using the previous book I didn’t finish again, I’ll go with Empire and Honor by W.E.B. Griffin. It’s about a quarter new material and the rest rehash of the previous novels in the series. And to be blunt, the new material was far below Griffin’s standard.

55. Favorite guilty free guilty pleasure reading:
I wouldn’t feel guilty about reading anything. I read what I want and who cares what others think of it.

One thought on “Get to know me a bit better…55 bookish questions! (part two)

Leave a Reply

