Another book question post

Was sent these via Facebook messenger so no link as to where they came from. If this is your list let me know and I’ll gladly link back to you.

Question #1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
I have a nice Queen Anne chair in my office I like to read in, and I occasionally read while sitting on the love seat in our living room. I rarely read in my office chair, but if I’m waiting for something on the computer and I know it’s going to be a few minutes (like an update or the like) I’ll grab my book and start reading.

Question #2: Bookmark or a random piece of paper?
For years I used the same bookmark that was just a laminated square that was originally used as a season ticket holder identification card one year for Worcester Sharks games. At some time this past winter in cleaning off my desk I think I threw it away, so at that point I grabbed an index card off the desk just to mark my place until I could get a “real” bookmark. Several books later I’m still using that same index card.

Question #3: Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, etc.?
I prefer to stop at the end of chapters or section breaks in a chapter just for the ease of knowing where I left off, but if something requires me to stop I’m comfortable stopping anywhere.

Question #4: Do you eat or drink while reading?
I generally don’t eat while reading but I do enjoy a nice cup of coffee if it’s early enough in the day. The occasional soft drink too, I guess, but mostly if I do it’s coffee.

Question #6: One book at a time, or several at once?
One at a time. I’ve never understood people that read more than one book, although I guess it makes sense if you have books in a couple different places (like one at work, one at home, etc). But to be reading two different books at once just to do it has never made sense to me. If I have to read more than one I make sure they aren’t the same genre. Luckily the number of times I had to can be counted on one hand with several fingers left over.

Question #7: Reading at home or everywhere?
Anywhere I have my book and the time to read odds are I’m reading it. I often read in the car while waiting for my wife to get out of work.

Question #8: Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently, of course. Do adults read out loud to themselves? I’ve never seen (or, I guess, heard) someone doing that.

Question #9: Do you read ahead or skip pages?
I never skip ahead. The author wrote every word in the order they are for a reason. The anticipation of how a story ends is one of the great things about reading. Why ruin it? Now if the question had been “do you ever go back and read sections over again?”, I absolutely do that; especially if I think I may have missed a mention of something earlier that turned out to be important.

Question #10: Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
Breaking the spine of any book causes me extreme emotional discomfort. I try to keep books as pristine as they were new on the shelf.

Question #11: Do you write in books?
Not. A. Chance. The author’s words belong in that book, not mine.

One thought on “Another book question post

Leave a Reply

