Book tag questions about my “To Be Read” list

Like lots of these book tag things I do this came from Facebook. If the list originated from you feel free to send me a note and I’ll be glad to link back to you.

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?
I have a spread sheet that has three pages: My to be read books that I own and are sitting on my shelves, the books I’ve already read, and a third page of stuff I’m looking for that either hasn’t come out or that I haven’t gotten yet. That third page comes in handy at second hand bookshops and yard sales. I’m thinking of adding a “master list” that compiles the read to to-read books so I won’t have to flip between pages so often.

Is your TBR mostly print or eBook?
Entirely print books. I do have a handful of eBooks on my computer that were given to me, but I’ve never looked at even one of them. Someday Ill get an eReader, just not today. Tomorrow doesn’t look promising either.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?
If I’m reading a series (as I am now) it’s almost always the next book in the series. If I’ve just finished a series or stand alone book I like to pick something off the shelf that’s a different genre. There are a few authors that I purchase new in hardcover, and when those come out they generally come next no matter what they are.

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?
That used to be an easy question to answer, now it’s not. For years (and by years I mean like more than 20) it was W.E.B. Griffin’s first six books of his “Brotherhood of war” series. I just read those a few months ago. My guess is it’s now Footfall by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle. I know I picked it up before I got married, and that was a long time ago.

A book you recently added to your TBR?
Last book on is The Last Witness by W.E.B. Griffin, the latest book in his “Badge of Honor” series. I’m just starting the first book of that series now so it won’t be on my TBR list for long.

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?
I grab a lot of books off bookstore shelves because of their covers but if the blurb on the back doesn’t interest me I don’t buy it. Even so, I’m sure there was a book or two I bought because the cover was nice, I just can’t recollect any right now.

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?
I plan on reading them all. I know it won’t happen, but if I wasn’t planning on reading it I wouldn’t have bought it.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?
I don’t add books to my TBR list until I own them. The book I most look forward to coming out is Full Force and Effect, a book in the Tom Clancy “Jack Ryan” series by Mark Greaney.

A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read but you?
Without a doubt, it’s Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin. I have no idea why I haven’t started them yet, but I’ll get around to that series eventually.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?
Again, it it’s Game of Thrones.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?
Then next one. How’s that for an answer?

How many books are on your Goodreads TBR shelf?
The technical answer is “none” because I don’t use Goodreads for anything except what I’ve read. By last count there are 214 books on my TBR list on my spreadsheet.

One thought on “Book tag questions about my “To Be Read” list

Leave a Reply

