Update: What I’m DVR’ing this fall 2014

So about a month ago I posted what TV shows I’m DVR’ing this fall, and I thought an update might be in order.

Scorpion, a new show on Monday nights on CBS, has been a little on the weak side but I think the program shows some promise. I had one Facebook friend call it one of the worst series of all time, but I could easily name 100 shows that were worse (that I can do that is somewhat troubling if you think about it). I’ll probably be watching for at least this season unles it somehow falls off a cliff story-wise.

Five minutes into the opening episode of The Blacklist my wife and I were hooked again, and it’s almost always the show we sit down to watch at first opportunity. NCIS:LA is usually the second, so that’s obviously still a keeper.

On Tuesday is old favorite NCIS, and while it hasn’t been great this season so far it does have a history of getting better as the season moves along. I’m hoping that holds true this year also. It’s spinoff, NCIS: New Orleans, had a clunky opening episode with a couple scenes that made no sense, but overall it’s just as strong as it’s two counterparts. It’s another keeper. Opposite of NCIS: New Orleans is Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D, and it’s continued the hot run it had from the second half of last season. It’s another show my wife and I watch as soon as we can.

Elementary still hasn’t debuted yet, but I can’t see how it won’t be as good as it has been in previous years. Another show not aired yet is NBC’s Constantine. More on that after a few weeks of that show. The Mentalist still awaits a CBS cancelation to be inserted into the fall lineup. I haven’t seen any numbers for shows this fall so I have no idea how close that is to happening.

One show that didn’t make the cut is Sunday’s Madam Secretary. It is possible–heck, likely–that my wife and I will give the show a chance over the summer via on-demand or Netflix. But for now, it’s outta here. Heading on the list, and one I forgot to mention in the first posting, is the short-seasoned HBO show The Newsroom.

My wife’s three shows, Revenge (ABC), Scandal (ABC), and Grimm (NBC) are still on her list. I’m not sure if she’s added any.

3 thoughts on “Update: What I’m DVR’ing this fall 2014

Leave a Reply

