Reader problems book tag list

Never one to not steal borrow a good idea I stumbled into this list from Bookarahma a few days ago and because I have nothing else close to finished I thought I’d just quickly answer these for something to post Wednesday. Two hours later and “quickly” isn’t the word I should have used. So that’s why you’re seeing this on Thursday.

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
This one was the easiest to answer because I just blogged about it Monday. Even before I had a ton to chose from I usually already had an idea what would be the next few to be read. It boils down to I just sort of go by what I’ve finished lately. Other than intentionally running through a series I try to switch off genres after a couple of the same.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
I blogged about that just recently too. I really have to hate a book or become so thoroughly disinterested in a book that I have to stop. It rarely happens. My OCD compels me to finish books I start, to the point where I’ve literally forced myself to sit in a chair and finish the book just so I could move on to another.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
I don’t use the Goodreads challenge, but on a similar note I try to read one more page than the year before. Right now I’m about 7,500 pages short of last year so making the number (33,482) seems unlikely. There are a couple larger books coming on in the next few weeks I’m looking to read (and will do so as soon as I can) but there’s virtually no way I’ll make my goal this year. And, I’m Ok with it. Some of the time I spent reading last year I’m using to blog now so it’s not like it’s just wasted time.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
I’m OK with it. I don’t save many books, and those that I do are hardcovers that are (for the most part) first printings so they seldom match. I have seen people looking in used bookstores for specific printings of older books so they’ll match the ones they already have. I wouldn’t bother doing that, but I certainly understand the folks that need/want to have series that match cover-wise.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
Well, anyone that will listen (or read). I’ve disliked lots of popular books and never had an issue finding someone to talk to about it. Most people get the idea that not everyone has the same opinion on stuff, so it’s usually easy to have someone listen to your take on a book. It also helps to know why you didn’t like something as that usually makes it easier to understand why others likes it so much.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
I’ve never had that problem, nor can I recall a situation where it was even close to being an issue. It’s likely because the genres I read generally don’t have that sort of emotional impact on people.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book?
There’s almost no chance I’ll reread the previous book. Some authors do a great job recapping what came before, so if the book is from one of them I won’t do anything. If I’m not expecting any sort of review of previous events I usually check out reviews of the previous book(s) marked with “spoilers”. That way I can more easily recall what happened before and be ready for the new book.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
I don’t lend out the few books I have saved, and won’t lend out a book I’m intending to save. I just tell folks that want to borrow them that I don’t lend books out that I’m saving. Because most of my reader friends know I’m more than willing to give away the vast majority of books I’ve read when I’ve finished them saying “no” to lending one out has never been an issue.

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
Luckily my OCD prevents me from reading more than a couple books at a time, so I don’t have to worry about that ADD-type problem. My slumps tend to be with a single book just not doing it for me and my reluctance to put it away causes me to read much slower, which brings us back to the answer for question #2.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
All of them. It might take a few weeks but eventually I’d get every book I was looking for. That’s one of the reasons my to-read shelf is four bookcases. I buy everything I’m waiting for, and on top of that lots of stuff from new authors I run into. I am addicted to buying books. When you consider all the things one could be addicted to buying books is essentially harmless.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
Some books sit on my shelf a very long time. Knowing my buying and reading habits there’s no way I’ll read everything I’m buying. But if I’m truly waiting on a book to come out it’s generally read pretty quickly, most often within a month or so.

2 thoughts on “Reader problems book tag list

Leave a Reply

