Some random book thoughts for December 2014

Well we’ve hit month five with the new (at what point does it stop being “new”?) format of the blog and I still don’t have a clue what I’ll be writing about each month in my “Random book thoughts” monthly posting. I’ve done a pretty good job of just starting to type and seeing what I come up with at the end, so I’ll do that again and hopefully success will follow. For those that care, you can read last month’s thoughts right here.

Last month I wasn’t really looking for anything I knew that was coming out, but did stumble on to a few books that ended up on my to-read shelf. The paperback release of Steve Berry’s The Lincoln Myth was an easy grab. I like his stuff, and his author’s notes in the back about what’s real and what’s fictionalized are great additions to his books. I also grabbed Bobby Orr’s autobiography called Orr, My Story when I saw that it was out in trade paperback. I was going to eventually borrow it from one of my many friends that bought the hardcover, but decided to not wait when I saw the TPB. Two new fantasy paperbacks I picked up were Masks by E.C. Blake and The Bloodbound by Erin Lindsey. Both were grabbed off the shelf because the covers attracted my attention, and were bought because the blurb on the back sounded interesting.

I’ve finished my run though the “Badge of Honor” series by W.E.B. Griffin and just have his “Men at War” series to go. As I’ve previously mentioned Griffin was this past summer’s author where I read everything I have (or can easily get) that a specific author has released. The Summer of 2013 was Michael Connelly and I flew through his stuff. Griffin’s books are a little more detailed so they took a lot longer. I’ll have all the Griffin stuff read by the spring. Of course, now I have to start getting ready for next summer and I have no idea who I’ll be choosing. Terry Goodkind seems to the likely choice, although George R.R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” (Game of Thrones) series might be the one. Many friends are giving me heck for not reading them yet, so I may do it just to get them off my back.

Coming out tomorrow (Tuesday, December 2) is Tom Clancy Full Force and Effect by Mark Greaney, and after a quick errand after work I’ll be heading to the bookstore to grab that one. The plan was for me to read Full Force and Effect after I finish The Gods of Guilt by Connelly, but I had way more time than I thought I would so now I’m reading The Lincoln Myth. Seemed fitting to go from a “Lincoln Lawyer” novel to one about Lincoln himself. Last month my plan was to read some fantasy stuff after the Connelly book, but it looks like it may be thrillers all the way until the end of the year. Subject to change, of course. The only science fiction-fantasy book I saw on the upcoming list that I’ll be picking up is Hunter of Sherwood: The Red Hand by Toby Venables. The first book in that series sits on the to-read shelf right behind me.

One thing I was toying with for the blog last month was changing the “Random” motif I was using, and within hours of mentioning it I got lots of comments on Facebook and in the “real word” that I shouldn’t do that. The reasons were varied, and to be honest some made no sense, but the quantity of people saying I shouldn’t change pretty much settled the issue.

Looks like once again having no idea what to write I’ve come up with a decent post. Perhaps I really have figured out what I’m going to write about in them. Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Some random book thoughts for December 2014

  1. […] New year, same problem. I still don’t have a clue what I’ll be writing about each month in my “Random book thoughts” monthly posting. What I’ve done the last few months is just start to type and see what I come up with at the end, so I’ll continue the trend and see what it looks like when I’m done. For those that care, you can read last month’s thoughts right here. […]

Leave a Reply

