Day and night book tag

In an idea shamelessly stolen borrowed from Todd Medicii I’ll answer a few more questions about books and my reading habits. The first letter of each question spells out “Day And Night”, so that’s why it’s called that.

Do you read more in the morning or at night?
Of the two, almost always at night. Like most folks I work during the day so reading in the morning is all but impossible most of the time. I do occasionally read past midnight, which is technically morning, but the spirit of the question really indicates “night” for me. The actual answer is I read mostly in the late afternoon/early evening. That doesn’t make a good answer for a day/night question though.

Are there any books that changed the way you thought about things?
I’ve answer similar questions like this before, and everything you do has the potential to change the way you think about things. If the question is ‘is there a specific book you’ve read that changed the way you think about things?’, the answer is basically no. But in general, reading has to change the way you think about things, it’s only natural it would happen.

YA or Not?
I don’t, but I would if I stumbled into something that interests me. The only fiction genre I totally ignore is romance, so generally the rest boils down to if the book looks like I would enjoy reading it. I will say that many “young adult” series have great covers, so I do pick a few off the shelf to take a look at. I’ve just haven’t bought one yet.

Are there characters that you honestly believe are real?
No. Obviously there are some fictional characters based on real people, but I’ve never confused a fictional character for an actual living person. It’s really a little creepy if you think about it.

Nobody touches my books or I don’t mind loaning my books out?
The books I’m saving (which are not a great number anymore) I don’t let anyone touch, but after the great book purge of a few years ago now I give away most of the stuff I read, so pretty much anybody can touch them when I’ve done reading them.

Do you ever smell your books?
No, and I can’t think of any reason why you would smell a book other than it already has an unpleasing odor…but as funny as it sounds my wife and I say that we do it all the time. Whenever we go to a bookstore just to browse (which happens quite frequently) we always jokingly say we’re going there to “smell the books”.

Not everyone loves books…is this a positive or a negative?
I think everyone should read more, so I see not loving books as a negative. One of the things I don’t get in life is people not reading. I can’t imagine what life would be like if I couldn’t.

I keep my books in the best condition or maybe not?
I try to keep them in as good a condition as I bought them. For a long while I didn’t buy stuff at used book stores because usually the condition was less than pristine. Now I don’t worry about stuff like that; if I want to read it and it’s in passible condition I’ll buy it. But in general I don’t do anything to harm the condition of any book. It kills me when I see stores ripping off the covers and discarding the rest of the book (that’s how they get credit for unsold books, they return the covers). It’s one of the reasons I could never work in a bookstore.

Gosh I have too many books! True or False?
False. I only purged my collection when I did because I didn’t have room for any new books (or much of anything else, for that matter). If I’d had the space I’d have kept them. Funny thing is in the house we bought and moved into I have plenty of room for ten times the number I got rid of.

Have you ever spilled or stained your books before with something, and if so how?
I’m sure I have, but I can’t remember a time off hand. I generally drink coffee when I read so there would have to be a time or two that I spilled a little on to the book, but no specific incident stands out.

Toned or untoned while reading? Or in other words, do you read and workout at the same time?
Work out? Like, exercise? Yeah…no.

2 thoughts on “Day and night book tag

  1. At least your answers are more descriptive and just plain longer. I never know how to elaborate without making it an essay long.

Leave a Reply

