‘Bout This Blogger

Was sent this list of questions by a friend via email, and despite me asking when people send me stuff to include where it came from this one didn’t include the original site. If this was your list let me know and I’ll happily add a link to your blog/post.

1. Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging a very long time ago when I was covering the first American Hockey League team to call my city its home, the Worcester IceCats. I used to make longish posts on a couple for hockey forums when I was approached by a friend to write for his site. I did that, and pretty much from that point on I’ve had at least two different blogs I wrote for. Right now, I have three: this one, Sharkspage.com where I cover the Worcester Sharks, and on New Year’s day I started 210Sports which is all sports.

2. What’s the story behind your blog’s name?
It’s “Random thoughts of 210Darryl” because that’s what it was originally going to be; just a spot where I blogged about whatever crossed my mind. From lack of posting about anything else it sort of morphed into a blog where I wrote solely about books, but now I’m heading back toward the “Random” part with posts about movies and eventually it will likely settle on mostly entertainment based stuff.

3. How many designs have you been through since you started blogging? (Pictures! We demand pictures!)
On WordPress I’ve had two. The current one I use is called “The Big Brother Theme”. I just scrolled through the free themes trying to figure out which one my old one was, but I couldn’t find it. I remember the font being a lot smaller and in general the theme being a lot “blockier”. I like this current one so odds are good I’ll be sticking with it. 210Sports uses the “The Penscratch Theme”. I like that one a lot too.

4. Have you ever switched blog platforms? What made you move? If you haven’t ever changed…why?
For the “free” sites, I switched once. My wife and I had a blog on Blogger, and when we virtually stopped blogging there I switched to this one on WordPress, where unless something drastically changes I’ll be staying. For the hosted blogs I’ve written for they were whatever the owner was using, although almost all of them have switched to the WordPress platform.

5. How long does it take you to write a post? What’s your postly process like?
It really depends. Lots of times I just start writing and see what I end up with. I usually have a half dozen unfinished posts in the draft folder, and then edit them slowly into something I eventually either post or discard. The easiest posts are my “week in review” ones, where I just copy the links of stuff I liked over the week. As a whole a post here takes a few days from start to posting, although it’s 5 minutes here, 10 minutes there.

6. Have you ever been super nervous about a post? Why? What was it?
No, not really. I post what I want and if no one likes it, that’s fine. But I always figure if I was interested enough to write it folks somewhere will be interested enough to read it.

7. Do you have a blogging schedule?
In theory it’s Monday/Wednesday/Friday/Sunday here, and Tuesday/Thursday plus the occasional “special” post over on 210Sports. On Sharkspage it’s postgame, usually the morning after. I don’t get all bothered if I miss a day because something came up, but I do get annoyed with myself if it’s just laziness that caused me to miss a day.

8. Do you tell people In-Real-Life about your blog? Their reactions?
Everyone knows. I post links on my Facebook and Twitter pages, and talk about it whenever anyone asks. In fact, as I noted above, this post and a few like it were emailed to me by friends knowing I’d likely use them in a posting. I am careful not to bother people about blogging that I know wouldn’t be interested.

9. Top ten blogs you read/comment on the most! Go! Go!
There’s a partial listing in the right margin. That list changes every so often, so make sure to take note of the new ones!

10. If you could change/improve things about your blog, what would they be?
I get lots of comments on Facebook and Twitter but very few on the actual posts here. I guess the one change I’d like is to have those comments show up here. I’ve noticed that no one seems to like to be the first to comment, but once there’s one several often follow it.

2 thoughts on “‘Bout This Blogger

Leave a Reply

