Just can’t get it right

There are some things in life you’re never going to be good at. No matter how hard you try, or how many people show you the right way, or how many books and articles you read about it, there will be things in life you can’t grasp the fundamentals of or will just never be good at. If that thing you can’t do isn’t something that comes up on a regular basis you can go through life with hardly anyone knowing you can’t do “whatever”. But if that thing is something very simple and comes up often, it’s best to just come right out and admit you can’t do it.

I can’t make a good pot of coffee to save my life.

You’d think someone like me who is addicted to coffee would be able to make a pot. Now I know this is the simplest of tasks, and I follow all the steps required. I mean seriously, how hard is it to put the right number of scoops of coffee in the brewer and then add the correct amount of water? I got those things down pat. It’s just that when I do it the coffee that comes out after brewing is vile tasting.

It makes no sense that would happen, but it indeed does. I’m not the only one who thinks the coffee I make is terrible, so does Trish. Just this morning when she left for her cult Weight Watcher’s meeting I was still sleeping, so she didn’t make any coffee. When I got up, I put together a pot, and drank the vile concoction that came out. When Trish returned home she poured herself a cup. Three sips later, she dumped it out.

I wasn’t kidding.

There have been multiple times that Trish has stood next to me and watched me get the pot ready to brew, and said I did it all correctly. And then we end up with a pot full of crap. It makes absolutely no sense, and yet, it happens all the time.

What’s even worse about this is many years ago my niece, who was about age 6 at the time, slept over at our apartment. When we all got up in the morning and Trish said she was making coffee, “M” said she made coffee for her mom and dad all the time and could do it. So Trish watched her, and she got it right. Of course, it tasted fine.

*shrugs*

One thought on “Just can’t get it right

Leave a Reply

