Very Superstitious, Writings on the Wall

I am not a superstitious person. While I do avoid walking under ladders (let’s be honest, you shouldn’t do that for any reason), I don’t care about black cats crossing my path, or breaking mirrors, or any other of the hundreds of things that supposedly bring bad luck. Superstitions are just plain silly, and I really don’t get people that truly believe that things like that matter one bit.

But I just canceled a bunch of blog posts for that exact reason.

As silly as it sounds I’m not making planned blog posts on 210Sports specifically because I’ve never done that before during the previous Worcester Bravehearts playoff runs. They won both times, and according to at least one person I shouldn’t mess with karma. For some reason I can’t really explain, despite being ready to mash the “post” button as soon as the game was over last night, I instead dumped the post in the trash and tweeted I wasn’t going to make post-game blog postings.

Now before you call me crazy, something like this has happened before. Before every Bravehearts’ playoff game last season I retweeted my preview for the current match-up. Well, almost every. I didn’t do it once. You see, it didn’t make sense for me to retweet it, unlike the early rounds of the playoffs in the finals they played the same team in a best of three. Retweeting my link before each game made sense when it was a different team everyday and folks might have missed it from the night before, but to do it before game two? Why would I do that? I had already retweeted it twice by that point. So I didn’t do it again.

And they lost that game.

Of course my not retweeting played no role in the loss, but the next day I retweeted it and they won. So now that the example has been set, I’ll retweet those previews before every game. Hardly anyone clicks on them after day two, but hey, if people demand I do it because they think it helps the Bravehearts win, I guess I’ll do my part.

The thought of not making those post-game blog posts never entered my mind. I was asked a couple weeks ago if I was going to post some post-game recaps and thoughts, and without really thinking about it I decided right then I was going to do it. Seems like something someone blogging about a team should be doing, so I figured I’d spend a few minutes after each game mashing out a post.

In fact, I had one ready last night. It was all set to go, just waiting for a quick update if anything “newsworthy” happened late in the game. And then I heard my phone chirp that I had a new email. It was from “LF”, and she begged me not to make game posts because I didn’t do it last year, and we have to do everything the same as to not “change our Karma”.

I have to admit, I thought this woman was a kook. Seriously, how could that even be a thing? 210Sports didn’t even exist in the Bravehearts’ first season, and blogging about them in year two didn’t stop them from repeating. So why would me adding more coverage of the team cause them to lose? I mean, come on. No reasonable person would even think that.

Then I put the post in the trash.

I guess I’m a little more superstitious than I think I am.

One thought on “Very Superstitious, Writings on the Wall

Leave a Reply

