Thirteen Month Old Baby, Broke the Lookin’ Glass

Wasn’t planning a sequel to yesterday’s post, at least not so soon after making the first one. I had something else I wanted to blog about today, but now I guess I have something I can use on my getaway day on Saturday. Something related to yesterday’s post happened over the last couple days and now seems a good a time as any to talk about it.

Yesterday’s post was about being superstitious and how I might be a tad more than I think I am. Now I know I have some things I do because I suffer from a mild case of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, but it isn’t superstition that makes me do those things. Last night showed I’m more than a tad superstitious.

On Monday night the Bravehearts were in Lynn, MA to take on North Shore in game one of their series. It was 1-1 late in the game and Worcester really hadn’t had much going on for a few innings. So I decided to tweet out some encouragement despite the fact I know there’s virtually no chance they’d see it.

Simple and direct, right to the point. Only autocorrect took over and changed the spelling on one of my hashtags. “#Mission3pete” should be “#Mission3peat”. Had I noticed at the time, and I should have because autocorrect has done that same thing to me before, I would have deleted it and tweeted again with the “correct” correct spelling. But I didn’t notice until much later, and out it went.

Within minutes the Bravehearts scored four runs and went on to win.

Obviously my tweet played no role, right? It’s not like they even saw it. Heck, I’m not sure anyone paid the least bit of attention to it. “Post hoc ergo propter hoc” (Latin for “after this, therefore because of this”) is one of my favorite sayings because many people presume that things that come before other things caused that other thing. It is virtually never true that what came before is the cause of what comes now. Basically, correlation does not imply causation.

But what if it happened twice?

Tuesday night, with the score once again knotted in the bottom of the eighth I scrolled back to the misspelled tweet, copied it, and tweeted it out again. This time it was noticed by “SC” who runs the Bravehearts’ in-game twitter account. He direct messaged me that I had misspelled “#Mission3peat”. I replied that I knew but had made the exact tweet the night before (in fact I’d copies and pasted it) and what happened. I got a “LOL” reply back.

In the top of the eighth Worcester manufactured a run and won to advance to the finals.

I’m guessing we’re both laughing at it now. And you can bet if it’s needed in the finals I’m absolutely tweeting that out again, misspelling and all. Can’t mess with the magic.

Like “SH” commented on my link on Facebook, “Superstition in everyday life is silly. In sports, it’s gospel.”

Amen, brother.

One thought on “Thirteen Month Old Baby, Broke the Lookin’ Glass

Leave a Reply

