Hot Time, Summer in the City

I make it no secret that I don’t like the heat and humidity. Anything over 75°F and I’m really uncomfortable. I’m more into cold temperatures. If it’s cold, I can put on more clothes. When it’s hot there is a “socially acceptable” limit to what you can take off. And for those that don’t know me, I’ll tell you that when it comes to covering my body, more is better.

It annoys me when I say I prefer the cold that many immediately reply they hate the ice and snow. Well, so do I, but it’s not like it snows every day it’s cold out. It would be like if someone says they prefer it hot and you reply you hate the rain. Sure you could have a cold rain while a warm snow isn’t possible, but that’s not the point. The fact I don’t like thunderstorms plays no role in me not liking the heat. You can have “thunder snow”, and that doesn’t deter me from liking it cold.

(As an aside, for something to laugh at go to YouTube and search “Cantore Thundersnow Montage”. It’s Jim Cantore going nuts during a thundersnow episode. No, really. Yes, I’ll wait while you do that)

OK, back to my rant…now I’m not talking about extreme cold. I’m talking about your average winter day. Even a few degrees colder is fine. If you talk to people who love the heat they still have a point where it’s too hot for them. I get that if you’re a fan of the beach warmer is better. But most golfers and softball players I know would rather it not be blazing hot like the last couple days have been. Heck, even hanging out at a pool is still better when it’s not 90° and humid.

Yes, there are some things you can only do in the summer months, but it doesn’t have to be so hot and humid to do them. But there’s also lots of stuff that is better to do when it’s on the cooler side. Outdoor sports is better to play when it’s cooler. Yardwork and household chores are a lot easier when it’s not so hot out.

And let’s be honest, there’s a reason why September is the most common month for birthdays…

One thought on “Hot Time, Summer in the City

Leave a Reply

