Sunday Funday: Recap and Tidbits 3

We’ve hit another Sunday, but this time we’ve also hit a bump in the road. I tried to make a “scheduled post” yesterday as I was unsure of my internet availability, and I failed to do that correctly. So I missed yesterday, theoretically penalizing myself in the contest/challenge to post for 30 days in a row. But seeing as I’m lagging far behind in the scoring anyway it’s not like it really matters that much. I’m throwing that post back in the hopper and it will go up sometime over this week.

Also because I was away yesterday and spent some time getting ready for the gathering (there will be a post about it soon) I didn’t get to do a whole lot of news reading over the past few days, so this will be a lean posting. With baseball being over for the local team I’ll be back on my normal schedule this week and hopefully will get some interesting stuff up. I guess we’ll both see together.

Now, on to a few tidbits…

******
Lots of my friends watch Criminal Minds and are talking about Thomas Gibson’s firing. Based on what I’m reading online there’s a lot more going on there than just Gibson having a physical encounter with writer-producer Virgil Williams. With so much money on the line for all parties a fight on-set between two people is almost always worked out somehow, so the fact Gibson was fired says to me this could be the latest in a long line of issues involving Gibson.

It stinks for fans of the show, and I get why they would be upset over what’s happened. But if you look at this from a “real world” perspective (because we all know things that happen in Hollywood seldom qualify as “real world) starting a fight with a coworker gets you fired from the vast majority of jobs, and this situation shouldn’t be any different. I’m sure we haven’t heard the last of this.

******
This is the first time I can recall going a full week of an Olympics without watching more than a handful of seconds of it live. With highlights available on the internet nearly instantly after the event is over watching on TV isn’t that important any more. NBC has paid over $12 billion to broadcast the Olympics until 2032 games, and executives there surely must be worried about the ability, legally or not, of people to watch events on the internet.

I haven’t seen any TV ratings for the games, but I’ll be a bit surprised if they’re as good as the 2012 games. When you figure that those games were in London and not in the same time zones as the US it’s not a good sign for NBC’s investment. I could be totally wrong and they’re raking in the viewers, but at least those I’m talking to are watching a whole lot less of the games on TV. Time will tell.

******
When it comes to video games I’m pretty much just a Diablo 3 player. Several of the guys at work were talking about Fallout 4 a few weeks back and I was intrigued, but it’s not the kind of game that really interests me so I didn’t get it. After reading about No Man’s Sky I am once again thinking about buying a new game to play, although if I do I’ll be waiting for them to work all the kinks out. It seems the version for PlayStation4 works great but there are some issues in the PC version. Will be waiting for the “all clear” on that before deciding.

******
My favorite headline of the week: “Apartment set on fire by homemade cockroach-killing flamethrower.” – UPI. Guess he should have gotten one at the store…

******
For last week’s recap, just in case you missed any of my posts from the last week…
Monday: The Silliness of Sports Motivation
Tuesday: Very Superstitious, Writings on the Wall
Wednesday: Thirteen Month Old Baby, Broke the Lookin’ Glass
Thursday: Some People Just Like To Complain
Friday: Hot Time, Summer in the City
Saturday: It didn’t post 😦

*****
And finally, your moment of Zen… (and what else could it be this week?)

Leave a Reply

